Bible Basics (What Every Christian Should Know)


  1. Bible is a Book made up of many books (66 total).
  2. Written by 40 writers (39 know, 1 unknown -Hebrews) but one author (God).
  3. Written over a period of 1500 (some say 1600) years.
  4. Written in 3 languages (Hebrew, Greek, Aramaic).
  5. Written in 3 continents (Africa, Europe, Asia).
  6. Divided into 2 sections (or two parts): Old Testament and New Testament.

Old Testament

  1. 39 Books.
  2. First 5 books (Genesis to Deuteronomy) written by Moses called The Law, Book of Moses, Pentateuch, Torah.
  3. Oldest book is Job.
  4. 17 History Books (Genesis to Esther).
  5. 5 Poetry Books (Job to Song of Songs).
  6. 17 Prophecy Books (Isaiah to Malachi).
  7. 3 Major Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel).
  8. 14 Minor Prophets.
  9. Some consider Daniel and Lamentations also Major Prophets.
  10. Most Psalms are attributed to David.
  11. King Solomon has written Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Songs.
  12. Jeremiah has written the book of Jeremiah and Lamentations.
  13. Proverbs is the Jewel of the Old Testament.

New Testament

  1. 27 Books.
  2. First 4 Books are called Gospels, which means “Good News”.
  3. The first 3 Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke) are called Synoptic Gospels because they include many of the same stories, often in a similar sequence or in similar wording.
  4. The Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles are attributed to Luke.
  5. Apostle Paul has written 13 letters (almost half the New Testament).
  6. 1, 2 Timothy and Titus are called Pastoral Letters.
  7. Apostle John has written the 3 letters of John and the Book of Revelation.
  8. Author of Hebrews is unknown (some attribute it to Apostle Paul).
  9. Two letters are written by half brother of Jesus: James and Jude.
  10. Letter of James is the Jewel of the New Testament.
  11. Time gap between last book of Old Testament and first Book of New Testament is 400 years.